We’re hiring a freelance Digital Content Creator

The Museum of Scottish Fire Heritage is recruiting for a Digital Content Creator to highlight and share our Maths Week Scotland 2023 activity.  

The Museum of Scottish Fire Heritage is a newly opened museum in Edinburgh. We love to use our collection and knowledge of the history and evolution of firefighting in Scotland to explore a variety of topical themes. Our stories and collections are ideally placed to explore maths due to the integral link between maths and the basics of utilising water for effective firefighting.  

Please read below for more details:

Our 5 historic fire appliances move to their new home

In April 2022 the 5 appliances on display in the museum made their move from the Museum’s Collection store to the exhibition gallery. The appliances were moved by the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service’s fleet team, marking a major milestone in the museum’s construction.

One of the world’s oldest fire engines the Duns 1806 was included in this move. Dating from 1806 the hand-drawn pump, originally stationed at Duns in the Scottish Borders, takes pride of place alongside five other classic fire appliances spanning more than 100 years of fire and rescue history.

All five appliances played a pivotal role in the history of fire and rescue in Scotland and include a 1939 Dennis Limo, previously based at Musselburgh, a 1911 Halley which served with Leith Fire Brigade, an 1824 pump which was used in Edinburgh City and a 1901 Greenwich Gem, first used by the town of Kircaldy in Fife.

All have been lovingly restored and will feature alongside dozens of historic and modern exhibits and artefacts including uniforms and equipment at the museum’s new premises at McDonald Road Community Fire Station.

Rounding out the exhibitions are ‘real stories about real people’, interactives and dress up for the entire family with a view to the working fire station’s drill yard.

There has been a museum in Edinburgh dedicated to firefighting in the Lothians since 1968 when it originally opened at McDonald Road Fire Station before moving to its previous location at the old Lauriston Fire Station before closing in 2016.

After years of hard work by our dedicated Volunteers and staff, it is great to see the gleaming appliances being installed and the new museum taking shape back in its original home at McDonald Road. We cannot wait to welcome members of the public, the community, firefighters and tourists to the new museum.

The move received some local press coverage!

https://nen.press/2022/05/11/one-of-worlds-oldest-fire-engines-moved-to-new-edinburgh-home/ 

 https://www.bordertelegraph.com/news/20154085.200-year-old-duns-fire-engine-takes-pride-place-firefighters-museum/

1939 Dennis Limo
1911 Halley being unloaded